Diamond Cut Lawn Care's Tuneup for the Ike beats Mother Nature!



8-5-16 - Williamsburg, OH - For the first time in over a month rain did NOT prevail over Moler Raceway Park and the Ike Moler Tuneup event was able to take place along with an autograph session on the front stretch. In the late model division it was Batavia, Ohio's Joe Brewer taking the win in heat #1 while Clarksville, Oh's John Whitney would win heat #2 and set the lineup for the feature event. At the green flag it was Whitney out front with some great racing behind him as Brewer, Joe Godsey, Jeff Arnold Jr, and Bill Sheets would battle for the top five positions. It wouldn't take long until 12th place starter Chad Stapleton would break into the top five while 8th starting Sheets would get into 3rd spot. By the races midpoint it was Whitney and Sheets battling together through heavy traffic for the top spot. On lap 20 Sheets would take advantage of lap traffic to squeeze by Whitney into the lead. Those two would race together for the next 7 laps before the caution would wave for Chad Stapleton who had broke in turn 4 just as he had worked his way into 3rd position. During the caution Whitney would also suffer a flat tire and have to go pitside to make the change. On the restart it was all Bill Sheets out front claiming his first win of the 2016 race season in his Sheets Trucking sponsored machine. Joe Godsey would come home in second spot with Brewer, Whitney and Jeff Arnold Jr completing the top five.

In the Diamond Cut Lawn Care Sport Mods it was AJ Seibert claiming his first ever win in the heat race but in the feature the youngster would spin on lap 1 in turn #2 causing a restart in the main event. On the restart it was Bert Crawford out front with Tony Seibert in pursuit. Seibert would take over the top spot on lap 3 and never look back as he would claim his second feature win on the season in his AJ Strasinger Trucking, Finish Line Performance, Hucks Machine Shop, WAGS Racing Engines sponsored machine. Andy Trout would pass Seibert on the final lap in turn #3 but would have to settle for second spot as Seibert pulled the crossover move coming for the checkered flag. Crawford would come him in 3rd spot with Dallas Pickelheimer and Bethany Moler Completing the top five.

In the Matt's Graphics UMP Modifieds it was Travis Dickson, Matt Hamilton, and Weasel Rhoades claiming heat race wins. In the feature event it was Dickson out front early with Hamilton in close pursuit. Despite numerous early cautions the top 2 stayed that way until lap 10 when Dickson would jump the cushion in turn #4 and Hamilton would take advantage of the bobble to take over the top spot. Dickson would pressure Hamilton on a couple of restarts late but the driver from Aurora, Indiana would claim the win in his LT's Place, House Racing Engines, Sign-a-Rama, Jim & Jack's on the River sponsored machine. Travis Dickson would come home 2nd with his father, Mark Dickson (started 9th) coming home in 3rd position. Jimmy Lennex Jr and Jimmy Haager would complete the top five.

29 DRC.net Crazy Compacts signed in for the racing program and some great action was provided by all as they had to race their way into the feature event. It was Richard Dalton, Brad Miller, and Jerry Gibson III taking heat race wins while Willie Butler would win the B-main event by a nose over Devin Puckett. In the feature event it was Jerry Gibson III jumping to the lead on lap #1 from his 3rd starting spot but many cautions would slow the early going. By lap#4 it was Josh Hammond getting past Gibson to take over the lead spot. Gibson would struggle on a restart and lose many spots as Kevin Stamper and Dalton Smith would battle with Hammond for the top position. At the end of the 15 laps it was Hammond from Walton, KY claiming his second career win (first at Moler Raceway Park) in his Finn Fabrication sponsored machine. Dalton Smith would come home in second spot with Kevin Stamper, Brandon Stephens and Richard Dalton completing the top five.

In the Tarvin Auto Service Freedom 4's it was Alanah Weis taking the long overdue win as she would trade the top spot early with Dustyn Fisher before settling in and taking her first win. Chris Vance would come home in second spot with Mike Clark, Johnny Jump, and Curt Daniels completing the top five positions.

During intermission there was lots of fun for everyone as the drivers and fans came together for an autograph session.on the front stretch.

MRP will be closed August 12th in preparation for the 10th Annual Victor “Ike” Moler Memorial on August 19th, with Late Models $3500 to Win plus UMP Modifieds, Crazy Compacts, Freedom 4’s and Sport Mods. molerracewaypark.com

Moler Raceway Park
2059 Harker Waits Road
Williamsburg, Ohio

Track Phone