OSCS Sprints return to Moler Raceway Park


8-4-17 – Williamsburg, OH - For the first time since May of 2008 the 410 Winged Sprint cars returned to Moler Raceway Park and it was almost like yesterday as Chillicothe,Ohio’s Danny Smith returned to victory lane yet again just like he did 9 years ago. In heat race action it was Bainbridge, Ohio’s Ryan Broughton claiming the win in heat #1 while Xenia, Ohio’s Sam Ashworth would claim the victory in heat race #2. In the feature event it was Smith jumping to the lead from the front row in his Ohio Valley Veneer Sponsored machine but the field would be slowed as the 2nd place machine of Broughton would spin in turn four slowing the field. Back under green it was Bloominton, Indiana’s Kody Kinser in second and applying pressure to the leader. Following a lap 7 restart for a single car accident by Dallas Hewitt it was Smith out front with Kinser in pursuit. Kinser would close the gap late as they entered lap traffic but he would do a 360 and keep going only losing one position in the process. At the checkers it was Smith claiming his 3rd career win at Moler Raceway Park. Ashworth would come home in second spot with Kinser in 3rd position. Rounding out the top five was Bryan Nuckles and Cale Conley.
In the Late Models dIvision it was The Tuneup for the Victor “Ike” Moler Memorial which will take place on August 18th this year. And it was Wheelersburg, Ohio’s Rod Conley and Clarksville Ohio’s John Whitney Jr taking heat race wins and setting the feature lineup. At the green it was Conley out front with Whitney in pursuit. Lap 3 would see Whitney and Steve Casebolt get together with Whitney spinning out and having to restart from the tail. Casebolt would pressure Conley for the top spot but Rod Conley would not be denied the win as the Conley River Terminal, Conley Trucking Valvoline sponsored machine would take his first win at MRP in a couple of seasons. Casebolt would come home in second spot with Whitney charging from the tail to claim 3rd position. Jason Montgomery and Mike Meyers would round out the top five positions.

The Matt’s Graphic UMP Modifieds would see a first-time winner in victory lane as Seth Daniels from Jackson, Ohio would make his maiden visit a successful one in his A&A Truckstop, S&D Trucking, Montgomery Motorsports Sponsored machine. Heats race were won by Larry Pickelheimer Jr and Seth Daniels. In the feature Daniels would get out front at the start with the veteran Pickelheimer in pursuit. Pickelheimer would spin on lap #2 forcing him to the tail and putting Jimmy Lennex Jr into second spot for the restart. The top two cars would stay that way throughout the 20 lap main event despite numerous cautions and restarts that would slow the pace. Behind them it was Dave McWilliams winning a furious battle with Daniel Dehner for 3rd spot while Matt Watson would come home in 5th position.

The Ohio Thunder Racesaver 305 Sprint Cars would also make their first ever visit to Moler Raceway and it was Indianapolis, Indiana’s invader Bob Shutt making only his 3rd career start a successful one as the Dynamite Welding, Infinity Shocks, Earls of Indy sponsored machine would take the lead at the start and never look back, claiming the win! Jim Lewis would come home in second spot with Hunter Lynch taking 3rd in a furious battle with heat race winner Jacob Hesson while Andy Hill would claim fifth position.

The racing program would finish out with the Cohen Recycling Crazy Compacts and it was Burlington, Ky driver Justin Dalton claiming another win in his Mikes Auto machine. It was not easy as Nick Barrett from Kettering, Ohio would pressure Dalton the entire race. Josh Hammond would claim third spot with Ashley Logan, Matt Craddock, and Brandon Stephens completing the top five positions. It was Dalton and Barrett winning heat races.

MRP will be closed August 11th, in preparation for their Biggest Event of the Year, the 11th Annual Victor “Ike” Moler Memorial with Late Models paying $3500 to Win! www.molerracewaypark.com

Moler Raceway Park
2059 Harker Waits Road
Williamsburg, Ohio

Track Phone