Fan Appreciation Night at Moler Raceway Park


August 28, 2015 - Williamsburg, Ohio -The season's 2nd Fan Appreciation Night at MRP was once again a successful night of racing and fan interaction. The Matt's Graphic UMP Modified division had a full field of cars and they started out the evenings activities. In the heat race action it was Dave McWilliams taking the win in heat race #1 with Jimmy Lennex Jr coming home in second spot. In heat race #2 it was Mike Meyers winning the second heat over Davey Warnock. In the feature event it was Dave McWilliams to the lead with Meyers in second spot. Behind those two was a great battle between Lennex, Adam Stricker, Shawn Valenti, and Warnock. Lennex worked his way to second spot on lap 18 and tried to make a last lap pass on McWilliams on the final turn but would get sideways and lose five spots coming to the checkered flag. McWilliams would take his Bad Fast Chassis #18 machine to victory lane for the second time this season while Valenti, Meyers, Adam Stricker, and Brandon Ramsey would complete the top five spots.

In the Late Model division there were only 13 cars on hand but the 25 lap feature kept the fans on the edge of their seats the entire distance. It was John Whitney and Bill Sheets on the front row of the feature by virtue of their heat race wins. At the green flag it was Whitney to the lead as the current points leader would work the bottom of the racetrack while Sheets would run in second spot working the extreme high side of the race track. By lap 12 Sheets would take the lead for the first time. A caution on lap 20 would set up a five lap shootout between the two long time competitors. At the green Whitney would continue to work the bottom and when Sheets would get sideways entering turn #1 on lap 22 Whitney would use that to his advantage and retake the lead on lap 23. Sheets would drive back past Whitney in turn 4 and lead the final two laps to take the win in his Sheets Excavating #99 machine. Whitney would come home second with Roger Ruark a close third with Jeff Arnold and John Baker completing the top five positions.

A nice field of 15 Tarvin Auto Service Freedom 4's would be the next race on the track and the 15 lap feature event seemed like a marathon as it would be slowed numerous times in the early laps for minor spins. Early in the event it was Miles Tarvin to the lead but by lap #5 it was 6th starting Sean Jones making the pass and taking the lead in his Barber Bros Automotive, Hudepohl Heating & Air, Chilo Dairy Bar, Jim Holden Financial, Mark Shinkle Basement Waterproofing sponsored machine. Jones would go on to claim his 6th feature win of the season. Miles Tarvin would come home in second spot with heat race winner Brandon Elam charging through the field after an early spin to claim third position. Eric Weaver and Joey Wykoff would finish in 4th and 5th positions.

In the Diamond Cut Lawn Care Sport Mod division it was Burt Crawford and Chris Shelton Sr. taking heat race wins and at the green flag it was Shelton out front with Tony Seibert in second place. 9Th Starting Andy Trout was the car on the move and he would charge forward and take the lead on lap 7. Once Trout got out front there was no stopping the Seip's Auto Parts, Jones Farm, Puckett's Tire and Lube, Elizanda Lumber, Nationwide Insurance (Ron Kallum & Jay Anderson agents) sponsored machine. Shelton would come home in second spot with Seibert, Crawford, and Eric Shepherd completing the top 5 positions.

The final division of the night would be the DRC.net Crazy Compacts and it was Ashley Alsip and Adam Wheeler taking heat race wins and setting the starting lineup of the feature event. In the feature it was a four wide start into turn #1 jumbling the field and causing outside pole sitter Adam Wheeler to make contact with the wall going down the backstretch and ending his night. On the restart it was all King Chris VI, as the winner of this year's King of Compacts event would jump to the lead early and go on to claim his second consecutive victory in the compact division. Willie Butler would claim second spot in a spirited battle with Troy Bellomo, Jeff Allen, and Zach Brandstutter

Friday September 4th will be a Special Labor Day Weekend show with The Buckeye Ohio Sprint Series at MRP for a $1500 to Win show along with THEDRC Crazy Compacts and Matt’s Graphics UMP Modifieds.  Camping is Available www.molerracewaypark.com

Moler Raceway Park
2059 Harker Waits Road
Williamsburg, Ohio

Track Phone