7th Annual King of Compacts at Moler Raceway Park




8-26-16 - Williamsburg, OH - A field of 55 DRC.net Crazy Compacts signed in to challenge to become the “King of Compacts” at Moler Raceway Park. With the field separated into 6 heat races the racers would have to race into feature event using the passing points format. Jerry Gibson III would win heat race #1 while Brad Miller would take the checkers in heat #2. In the 3rd heat it was Kevin Stamper taking the win while Jessica Gibson was victorious in heat #4. The final two heats would see Brad Hoskins and Kyle Willoughby taking the wins. The top 8 cars in passing points would take part in the Alsip Masonry Dash event that would set the lineup for the first 4 rows of the feature event. In the Dash it was Stamper from his 4th starting spot taking the win and the extra cash. There would be 2 B-Mains to round out the field and it was Kyle Eversole taking the win in B-main #1 while Adam Wheeler would win the second B-main event.

The 30 lap feature event would see Chris Shelton Jr out front at the green and he would lead the first 6 laps despite lots of pressure from Stamper. The feature event would be slowed numerous times for relatively minor issues early in the event. Lap 7 would see Jerry Gibson III climb to the top spot from his 10th starting position. A wild accident on lap 22 would see David Smith flip in turn #3 bringing the field to a stop. On the restart many of the top contenders would fall by the wayside and the leader Jerry Gibson III would begin slowing due to an overheating engine. Lap 26 would see Kyle Willoughby of Dry Ridge, KY take over the top spot and set sail to collect his first feature win in the biggest compact event in the region. In victory lane the Willoughby Tree Service, AutoMasters, Finn Fabrication machine would not only get the trophy but he was also officially “crowned” King Kyle II” by last year’s winner Chris Shelton Sr. While in victory lane he would also receive the unofficial drink of the “King of Compacts” a bottle of Crown Royal as well as $500 bonus put up by the Hensley Family and the folks at Kentucky Auto Service. Chris Shelton Jr would come home in second position with Jerry Gibson III, Blake Gibson, and Brandon Stephens completing the top five spots. In the “Jester 12” event for non-qualifiers it was Bryson Clark of North Vernon, Ind taking the win.

The Late Model division would see Joe Godsey and Chad Stapleton bring the field to the green flag based on their heat race wins. And it was Godsey jumping to the top spot early but the man on the move was Kody Evans. Evans would go to the lead on lap 6 but it would be shor- lived as Godsey would retake the lead following a restart on lap 7. Lap 8 would see Joe Brewer race to the lead from his 5th starting spot but John Whitney would be in close pursuit and would jump to the top of the leader board by lap 16. Whitney would go on to claim yet another win in his Tom & Jerri Adams, Stephens Heating and Cooling Sponsored Swartz machine. Stapleton would come home in second position with Godsey, Michael Hildebrand, and Roger Ruark completing the top five spots.

Another nice field of UMP Modifieds were on hand and it was once again the Lightning Chassis of Matt Hamilton taking the win at the end of the race but it was far from easy as Weasel Rhoades was out front early and mechanical issues would sideline the Winchester, Ohio driver on lap 11. With Weasel out Hamilton would cruise to his 3rd feature win of the season in the new car. Davey Warnock would come home in second spot with Adam Stricker, Tony Anderson, and Dave McWilliams completing the top five running order. Rhoades, Stricker, and Warnock were heat race winners while Brandon Vaughn would pass Brandon Ramsey off the final turn to claim the B-main win.

The Tarvin Auto Service Freedom 4's would see defending track champion Sean Jones make an appearance at the track and the likeable driver would go on to claim the feature win over Chris Vance, Mike Clark, Johnny Jump, and Dustyn Fisher. Jones and Vance were heat race winners.

The Diamond Cut Lawn Care Sport Mods would round out the racing program and it was Maysville,Ky's Chris Shelton Jr leading the entire 15 lap feature event and claiming his first Sport Mod feature win of the season. Following a spin on the final lap by 2nd and 3rd place running Andy Trout and AJ Seibert it would be Tony Seibert claiming second spot while Dallas Pickelheimer, Peter Ripato, and Jowana Shelton would come home in top five positions. Shelton and Trout were hea race winners.

9-2 UMP Modifieds $1000 to Win, plus Late Models, Sport Mods, Crazy Compacts and Freedom 4’s along with Girls Grudge Races. Sunday September 4th - Go Karts. www.molerracewaypark.com

Moler Raceway Park
2059 Harker Waits Road
Williamsburg, Ohio

Track Phone