9th Annual Ike Moler Memorial Sees First Repeat Winner


8-14-15 The Ike Moler Memorial Event which is the biggest late model event at MRP would see 28 cars on hand each with the hope of taking home the $3,000 winning prize. In qualifications it was Dresdon,Ohio's Devin Moran being the overall top qualifier with a 12.458 lap. In heat race action it was Moran and Chad Stapleton of Edinburgh, Indiana running first and second in the first heat while heat race #2 would see Clarksville,Ohio's John Whitney and Richmond,Indiana's Steve Casebolt in the first two spots.  In the third and final heat race it was Verona,Ky's Josh Rice taking the win from his fourth starting spot while Florence, Ky's Robby Hensley came home in second spot. In the Diamond Cut Lawn Care Dash event it was all Whitney as the current point leader would rocket to the lead at the green flag in his Stephan's Heating and Cooling sponsored Swartz chassis and never look back enroute to the 6 lap dash win. The B-main event was won by Bethel,Ohio's Chris Shannon. In the feature event it was two locals, Whitney and Stapleton bringing the field to the green flag and it was Whitney who would jump to the lead but Casebolt would quickly work his way from 4th to the top spot on lap #3. There was fast and furious action, three and four wide, around the Fastest ¼ mile dirt oval throughout the 50 lap event! The first caution would wave on lap #9 for Michael Hildebrand who spun in turn #4. On the restart the man on the move was Moran who would pass Whitney and take over second position. Moran would hound Casebolt as they raced hard through traffic and on lap 27 Moran would take over the top spot while 8th starting Jason Jameson of Lawrenceburg, Indiana had worked his way up to third position during the long green flag period. The caution would wave again on lap 36 as Chamberlain would spin in turn #4 slowing the field once again. Lap 41 would see Jameson get past Casebolt for 2nd spot and set his eyes on the lead. The caution would wave once again on lap 46 for the final time for the stopped machine of Chad Stapleton. On the restart Moran and Jameson would have an old fashion 4 lap shootout and it was Jameson who would make the final move as he got under Moran with two laps to go off of turn #4 and would go on to become the First repeat winner in the 50 lap event in its 9 year history. Jameson had won the Inaugural Victor “Ike” Moler event in 2007.  The Bert Transmission, Victory Circle Auto Mart, TWM, QA1 sponsored machine was the class of the field at the end of the race with past winners Moran coming in 2nd, and Casebolt coming in 3rd.  Matt Westfall came home in 4th spot (after starting 10th) while Whitney was able to come home in fifth spot just edging Chamberlain.


In the Matt's Graphics UMP Modified division there were 25 cars on hand and it was David McWilliams, Matt Hamilton, and Devin Gilpin winning heat races while Donnie Morgan would win the B-main event. In the feature it was McWilliams jumping to the lead early over Hamilton but Gilpin would waste no time as he would jump to the lead on lap #3. Despite a number of minor spins that slowed the pace it was Gilpin leading Hamilton with Joe Godsey (who started 10th) battling for the top 3 spots. Hamilton kept trying to diamond under Gilpin off of turn #2 to no avail as the Columbus, Indiana driver would win for his seventh time in seven attempts at MRP in his Vallery Chevrolet, Mike Shell Race Engines, Impressive Chassis machine (36 total feature wins this season including all Modified and Late Model victories). Hamilton would come home in second spot with Godsey, Jimmy Lennix Jr., and Don Adams completing the top five spots.


In the final event of the night it was the DRC.net Crazy Compacts in action for a 15 lap feature event. At the green flag it was Lynchburg, Ohio's Jason Borgemenke jumping to the top spot with Tony Reed in close tow. Jerry Gibson III and Ryan Eversole would both jump to 3rd and 4th spots with Blake Gibson in fifth spot. Gibson and Eversole would both get past Reed for second and third spot and while Gibson put pressure on Borgenmenke for the top spot and even dove under him the final time into turn #3 it was all for nothing as Borgenmenke would claim his second career win at MRP. Gibson would come home in second with Eversole,Reed, and Justin Dalton completing the top five spots.

Next weekend will be THEDRC King of the Compacts on Friday August 21st $500 to Win plus all regular classes and Racers Feeding Families (Bring canned goods to help the needy)!  Then Saturday August 22nd with be a special Derby Day at MRP with a 100 Lap Enduro Race, Power Wheels, Lawn Mowers and Derbies!  www.molerracewaypark.com


Moler Raceway Park
2059 Harker Waits Road
Williamsburg, Ohio

Track Phone