Phantom Fireworks Night - A Wild and Crazy Night at MRP!


7-1-16 - Williamsburg, OH - Independence Day Weekend at Moler Raceway was kicked off with a large field of cars in attendance and a night full of aggression and cautions, along with an Awesome Fireworks show from Phantom Fireworks at intermission!  In the late model division it was a field of 18 cars on hand and Richmond, Ind Duane Chamberlain winning heat race #1 while Edinburgh, Ind. Chad Stapleton winning heat #2. Chamberlain jumped to the lead at the start of the feature event with Stapleton in second position and Scott James in close pursuit. The car on the move was John Whitney (started 8th) who would challenge Kody Evans for 4th spot. Numerous cautions would slow the race but at the end it was the St Henry Niteclub, Miller Lite sponsored machine of Chamberlain out front claiming the checkered flag. James would challenge Stapleton for 2nd position but would have to settle for 3rd spot while Evans and Whitney would round out the top five spots.


A field of 16 Diamond Cut Lawn Care Sport Mods were in attendance and it was Chris Shelton Jr and Tony Seibert claiming heat race wins and setting the feature lineup. At the green flag it was Seibert out front hugging the bottom of the track while Shelton would race on the extreme high side of the track as the two would race side-by-side The race was slowed numerous times for minor incidents but each time the two leaders would resume racing the same way. At the end it was Shelton taking the win in his Brannon Farms, Davis Machine, Ripato Trucking sponsored machine. Seibert would hold on for a close second with Mitchell Fields, Donnie Morgan, and Jimmy Spillman completing the top five positions.

In the Tarvin Auto Service Freedom 4's it was Dustyn Fisher and Miles Tarvin winning heat races. In the feature event it was Tarvin jumping to the lead but Fisher would take over the top spot on lap 3. Tarvin would then spin in front of the field and have to restart from the back of the pack. Fisher's lead would only last a couple of laps as he would have serious engine problems that would allow Chris Vance of Sardinia, Ohio to take over the top spot. Vance would hold on and claim another feature win in his Wilson Body Shop, Northwest Transmission sponsored machine. Kyle Tarvin would come home in second with Allanah Weis, Josh Davis, and Miles Tarvin completing the top five spots.


The Matt's Graphics UMP Modifieds would see 20 cars in action.  In the heat races it was Aurora, Indiana's Matt Hamilton and Mooresville, NC's Billy Workman Jr taking wins. In the feature it was Hamilton to the lead early and despite 8 different cautions that would slow the event's pace it was the LT's Place, House Racing Engines, Sign-a-rama, Jim & Jacks on the River sponsored machine of Hamilton who would take his second victory of the season. Workman would hold on for second position over Slater McCray who managed to improve 2 positions in the last two laps of the race. Adam Stricker and Jimmy Haager would round out the top five spots.


The DRC.net Crazy Compacts seen 25 cars on hand with drivers having to race their way into the feature event through one of three heats and a B-main event. Heats were won by Brandon Stephens, Josh Hammond, and Jerry Gibson III, while it was Michael Hoffman claiming the 12 lap B-main event. At the drop of the green flag they were 4 wide up front with Jerry Gibson III, Ryan Eversole, and Blake Gibson quickly showing they were the top 3 machines. Those 3 cars ran tight together throughout the event racing 3 wide while going through traffic at one point in the 15 lap feature event. In the end though it was the #47 machine of Gibson III taking his 3rd feature win in a row and fourth on the season. Hammond would come home in second spot with Eversole, William Butler, and Blake Gibson completing the top five spots


7-8-16 Ohio Sprint Car Series $2500 to Win, plus Late Models $1200, Matt’s Graphics UMP Modifieds $600, Diamond Cut Lawn Care Sport Mods $300 and SOSC Compacts $300 to Win.  www.molerracewaypark.com

Moler Raceway Park
2059 Harker Waits Road
Williamsburg, Ohio

Track Phone