Salute to Armed Forces Night at MRP!



6-3-16 - Williamsburg, OH -  In a special race honoring the Military it was the Matt's Graphics UMP Modifieds being the featured division of the night with $1,000 on the line to the winner. With 25 cars on hand drivers would have to race their way into the A main.  It was Lynn, Indiana driver Bill Haager taking the win in heat #1 over Larry Pickelheimer Jr. In heat #2 it was Gallipolis, Ohio driver Travis Dickson winning over Batavia's Adam Stricker. In the 3rd and final heat race it was Bethel,Ohio's Dave McWilliams taking the win over Milton, WV's Eric Hatfield. Brad Weick from Cleves, Ohio was victorious in the B-main.


In the feature it was outside pole-sitter Travis Dickson jumping to the early lead but behind him the 2nd thru 7th place cars were racing 2-3 wide. Lap 10 would see the first caution wave and on the restart it was McWilliams pressuring Dickson out front with Bill Haager and Stricker in tow. With 5 laps to go Bill Haager would take over second spot and pressure Dickson from the bottom-side but to no avail as Dickson would claim his first ever win at Moler Raceway in his AM Commodities, Lias Tire, Fannin Farms sponsored machine. Bill Haager would hold on for second spot with McWilliams, Mark Dickson, and Brandon Ramsey completing the top five positions.


The Late Model division was up next and it was heat race winners, John Whitney and Chad Stapleton on the front row of the 15 car field. At the green the two would race side by side for first 3 laps but Whitney would pull away and begin to set a torrid pace. By lap 22 the first caution would wave as Blake Naylor would have mechanical problems and bring his machine to a stop. At that point Whitney had lapped all but the top five positions. On the restart Stapleton would be right on Whitney's back bumper and as they took the green flag he would sail off into turn #1 to make a run but the driver from Edinburgh, Indiana would make contact with turn 2 wall causing damage and ending his night with 2 laps to go. On the restart it was Bill Sheets in second and he would try the same strategy but to no avail as John Whitney, from Clarksville, Ohio would go on to claim another win in his Stephan's Heating & Cooling, Tom & Jerri Adams sponsored machine. Sheets would come home second with Joe Brewer, Roger Ruark, and Chad Oberson completing the top five spots.


Diamond Cut Lawn Care Sport Mod division would see the defending track champion Andy Trout take another win in his Seip's Auto Parts, A&J Liquid Graphics, Jones Farm, Elizanda Lumber, Custom Built Crates sponsored machine. Tony Seibert ran second the entire race only to spin coming for the checkered flag allowing Bert Crawford to take over second with Bethany Moler coming home in 3rd position.


The DRC.net Crazy Compacts were next on the track and it was Springboro, Ohio's Kevin Stamper leading all 15 laps enroute to another feature win in his JC Motors, Body Kneads by Sherry sponsored car. The racing was furious behind him for a while but it was Bubba Gibson bringing home second spot with Clyde Pack, Brandon Stephens and Zach Brandstutter completing the top five spots. Pack and Stamper were heat race winners.


The Tarvin Auto Service Freedom 4's would round out the night and a great race would ensue as early leader Mike Clark would have cars 3 wide behind him battling for top spot as Miles Tarvin, Chris Vance, and Sean Jones would all challenge for the top spot. Lap 4 would see Tarvin get passed Clark for the early lead with Vance and Jones in tow. Lap 11 would see Chris Vance get past Tarvin for the top spot but Tarvin wasn't done and battled back on the outside but couldn't make it work as Vance would take his Weaver's Garage, Wilson Bodyshop, Northwest Transmission machine to victory lane for the second time this season. Tarvin would come home in second with Josh Davis charging to 3rd position over Jones and Kyle Tarvin.


SCHEDULE CHANGE6-10-16 - (One Day Only) Bilstein Shocks Party in the Park, with Specials in all Classes!  Late Models $1500 to Win, UMP Modifieds $1500 to Win, Freedom 4’s, Sport Mods and Crazy Compacts $400 to Win! www.molerracewaypark.com


Moler Raceway Park
2059 Harker Waits Road
Williamsburg, Ohio

Track Phone