Another fantastic night of racing at MRP


Night #2 of the racing season was another successful night as a strong field of 17 late models were on hand and in heat race action it was Edinburgh, Indiana’s Chad Stapleton taking the win over last week’s feature winner John Whitney. In the second heat race it was Columbus, Indiana’s Devin Gilpin taking the win on the last lap over Ethan Burgess of Cincinnati. In the feature event it looked as though the 3-time UMP Modified National Champion would claim his first late model victory of the season at Moler but it was not to be as a part failure in the drive train on lap #9 would end his evening. On the restart it was Stapleton out front but there was a great battle right behind him as Nick Latham, Burgess, Whitney, and Duane Chamberlain would not only trade track positions but they would trade racing lanes on the track throughout the 25 lap feature event. Following a lap 18 restart it was Latham pressuring Stapleton for the win but the Winchester, Ohio driver would fade and have his hands full with Whitney for second position. At the end it was Stapleton in his K&L Machine, 31 Auto Group, Brian Bowman Dodge, Rogers Bar sponsored Club 29 chassis taking his first win of the 2015 season. Latham would out battle Whitney for second spot with Burgess, and Chamberlain completing the top 5 spots.


The Tarvin Auto Service Freedom 4 division was up next for a special race and it was Sean Jones jumping to the lead at the start and never looking back as the #24 machine would cruise to his first victory of the season. The battle behind Jones was great as heat race winner Mike Clark would battle with Dustyn Fisher and Kyle Tarvin throughout the 15 lap main event. In the end it was Tarvin coming home in second spot with Fisher, Clark, and Eric Weaver completing the top five spots.


In the UMP Modifieds it was Devin Gilpin leading the way in heat race #1 over Larry Pickelheimer Jr. of Bethel, Ohio. In heat race #2 it was Joe Godsey of Edinburgh, Indiana taking the win over Patrick Alcorn of Cincinnati. In the feature event it was all Gilpin as the Impressive Race Chassis, Vallery Chevrolet, Beeman Lumber, Dasco Race Supply, Mike Shell Race Engine sponsored machine would claim his second consecutive victory of the season at MRP and his 9th modified win on the season. Godsey would come home in second spot with 8th place starter Adam Stricker coming home in 3rd with Pickelheimer and Alcorn completing the top five.


The Diamond Cut Lawn Care SportMod division was low on car count but high in competitiveness as last week’s feature winner Andy Trout would jump to the top spot over heat winner Mitchell Fields but the two drivers would battle almost side by side the first 10 laps before Fields would retake the top spot and set sail for the win. The Wallingford,Ky driver put his Cropper Race Engine, Quality Appliance, River Rat Logging, Thoroughbred Insulation sponsored machine into victory lane for the first time in 2015. Trout would come home second with Tony Seibert, Glenn Keaton, and Bethany Moler completing the top five positions.


The final event of the night was the DRC.net Crazy Compact division and it was former King of Compact winner Willie Butler claiming his first win in nearly two years in his Kickshot Billiards, Bessler U Pull and Save, Decal Designs, Wanted Flooring, Endurance Motorsports sponsored machine. Jason Borgenmenke would battle with Butler for the top spot and even had the lead at one point but to no avail as he had to settle for second position. Chris Shelton Sr. would place third with Kyle Willoughby and Mallory Owens completing the top five. In heat races it was Ashley Alsip and Butler each taking the checker flag.



Moler Raceway Park
2059 Harker Waits Road
Williamsburg, Ohio

Track Phone