Moler Raceway Park Celebrates 10 Years with World of Outlaws $10,000 to Win!


5-27-16 - Williamsburg, OH - On the 10 Year Anniversary of the track opening Moler Raceway Park held their biggest event ever with the $10,000 to Win Craftsmen World of Outlaws Late Model Series. In qualifications it was Illinois driver Brian Shirley setting the overall quick time with a 14.027 lap. In heat race action it was Shirley, Shane Clanton, Rick Eckert, and Devin Gilpin taking wins while RJ Conley and Chub Frank were winners in the Last Chance races.


In the 50 lap A-main it was Shane Clanton to the lead at the start and the race ran the first 40 laps before the first caution would wave for the slowing machine of Eckert who was running 2nd at the time. On the restart it was Josh Richard in second spot but he had nothing for the Georgia native as Clanton would role to another win on the WOO Tour in his first ever visit to Moler Raceway Park. Richards would come home second with Eddie Carrier Jr, Frank Heckenast Jr, and Devin Moran completing the top five spots.


For only the second ever time at MRP the Crate Late Models were also a part of the program thanks to Turfway Grill and Bar and Bleacher's Sports Pub. Fast qualifier Conner Meade would claim the win in heat #1 while John Gill would be victorious in heat #2 setting the starting lineup of the 25 lap feature event. At the start of the feature it was Meade out front but the car on the move was the youngster from Martinsville, Indiana Hudson Oneal. Oneal was putting pressure on Meade starting on lap 3 and on lap 13 the two would beat and bang down the backstretch with Oneal taking over the top spot for good on lap 14. The driver in the Peak, Tarpy Trucking, Superior Trucking, Club 29 chassis machine would go on to claim the win in his first ever race at MRP. John Gill would pressure throughout the final 10 laps but would settle for second spot with Jeff Alsip, Meade, and Grant Garrison taking the top five positions.


The Matt's Graphic Modifieds would take to the track and it would be Danville,Ky' Victor Lee leading green to checker in his MBR Custom, Pro Power Race Engines, TriCounty Auto and Oil sponsored machine. Josh Rice would make his 2016 modified debut behind the wheel of the DGM Motorsports car and bring it home in second position with Larry Pickelheimer Jr. Dave McWilliams, and Jimmy Haager (despite restarting from tail on lap #1) completing the top five spots. Heat races were won by Lee, Haager, and Pickelheimer while Jeff Surber won the B-main event.


The final division of the night was the Diamond Cut Lawn Care Sport Mod division and it was Laurelville, Ohio's Jamey Adams making his first visit in a sport mod a successful one as the longtime driver/car builder would double up and win both his heat race and feature event. Dustin Webber would jump behind the wheel of Darryl Phelps machine in the feature event and drive from the tail to second spot in the feature just ahead of Andy Trout, Tony Seibert (winner of heat #2), and Gary Griffith (fast qualifier).


A-Main (50-laps): 1. 25- Shane Clanton  2. 1- Josh Richards  3. 28- Eddie Carrier Jr.   4. 99jr- Frank Heckenast Jr.      5. 99m- Devin Moran  6. 3s- Brian Shirley  7. 1g- Devin Gilpin   8. 76- Brandon Overton  9. 18c- Chase Junghans   10. 20c- Duane Chamberlain  11.12- Jason Jameson  12. 21jr- Billy Moyer Jr.  13. 88- Greg Johnson  14. 32- Chad Stapleton  15. 1*- Chub Frank  16. 71r- Rod Conley  17. 71C- R.J. Conley  18. 18- Eric Wells 19. 77a- Adam Bowman 20. C9- Steve Casebolt  21.14m- Morgan Bagley  22. 7- Rick Eckert  23. 18b- Ethan Burgess  24. 0H10- John Whitney

Last-Chance Showdown No. 1 (10 laps - Top 3 Transfer): 1. 71C- R.J. Conley; 2. 32- Chad Stapleton; 3. 18b- Ethan Burgess; 4. 16- Justin Rattliff; 5. 14M- Morgan Bagley; 6. 99b- Doug Eck; 7. 22- Rusty Yarger; 8. 7P- Graylin Prince; 9. C9- Steve Casebolt

Last-Chance Showdown No. 2 (10 laps - Top 2 Transfer): 1. 1* Chub Frank; 2. 71R- Rod Conley; 3. 77A- Adam Bowman; 4. 99- Ben Sheets; 5. 91- Tyler Erb; 6. 91s- Blake Naylor; 7. 2c- Joey Coulter; 8. 15- Scott James

6-3 Armed Forces Night - UMP Modifieds $1000 to Win plus all classes and Kids Foot Races.  Military with ID or in Uniform in FREE! Adults $15 Kids 0-5 Free 6-10 $5 Pits $35 www.molerracewaypark.com

Moler Raceway Park
2059 Harker Waits Road
Williamsburg, Ohio

Track Phone