Moler Raceway Opens 2016 with a Bang!

4-15-16 - Williamsburg, OH - The start of the 2016 race season started out fast and furious with the Ultimate Super Late Model Battle of Bluegrass Series invading MRP for an Awesome Night of Racing Action with 28 of the best drivers around on hand seeking to take home the $3000 to Win! It was Kentucky driver Dustin Linville taking the fast qualifying award courtesy of Diamond Cut Lawn Care with a 12.543 lap.

In heat race action it was Richmond,Indiana's Duane Chamberlain winning heat race #1 over Linville while Dresdon,Ohio's Devin Moran was the winner of heat race #2 over Jason Jameson. In heat race #3 it was the “Salt Rock Express” Eddie Carrier Jr taking the win over Steve Casebolt. Edinburgh, Indiana's Joe Godsey was victorious in the 12 lap B-main event.

In the feature it was Moran jumping to the lead from his outside pole position starting spot. Chamberlain would spend the entire 30 laps within a couple of car lengths of the leader and even got beside him a couple of times in traffic but it was the youngster, Devin Moran taking the win in his Tommy Pope Construction sponsored machine. Chamberlain would come home second with Dustin Linville, RJ Conley, Eddie Carrier Jr, Jameson, Casebolt, Chilton, Hines, Rod Conley, finishing the top ten.

In TheDRC Crazy Compacts it was a field of 17 cars looking to take the win. It was Brian Schmidt and Jerry “Bubba” Gibson III taking heat win. And in the feature it was Gibson out front but it was Kevin Stamper in close pursuit. On lap #7 Stamper would overtake Gibson for the lead but following a restart on lap 8 Gibson would get back past Stamper. The two cars would battle for the remaining laps including a very tight door-to-door battle following a restart with 4 laps to go. Bubba would take the win over Stamper in his Matt Murrell, Gibson Motorsports sponsored machine. Following those two across the line was Blake Gibson in 3rd spot with Michael Hoffman and Ashley Logan completing the top 5 positions.

The Matt's Graphics UMP Modifieds would round out the evening with a great battle throughout the 20 lap feature between Dave McWilliams, Jimmy Lennex Jr, and Matt Hamilton. Early on it was Lennex and McWilliams trading the top spot but throughout the middle of the event McWilliams would lead Lennex who had a great battle going with Hamilton. Hamilton would take over second spot from Lennex on lap 13 and begin a tight battle with McWilliams for the top spot over the last 6 laps in his Lt's Place,Yesco, Sign-a-rama, House Race Engines, Club Vape, Jim & Jacks on the River sponsored machine. Lap 18 would see contact between the top 2 but Hamilton was able to take over the top spot and claim the first win of 2016. McWilliams would have a tire go flat enabling Lennex to overtake for second positions while McWilliams would hold on for 3rd spot with Adam Stricker and Weasel Roades completing the top five spots.

Moler Raceway Park
2059 Harker Waits Road
Williamsburg, Ohio

Track Phone