Carpenter takes 1st Win at MRP while Bond and Bishop take 1st Career Wins!!



11-25-17 – Williamsburg, OH - On a beautiful late November afternoon Moler Raceway Park held its annual Turkey Gobbler event with a field of close to 100 cars and several first-time winners. Tyler Carpenter won his 1st Feature Win at MRP in the Late Model Division, and Reed Bishop and Kyle Bond took their 1st Career Wins!

The Late Model division was up first and a strong field of 26 cars from throughout the region were in attendance. Winning heat races was Tyler Carpenter, Craig Wolford, and Duane Chamberlain. Mike Hildebrand was victorious in the B-main event. In the feature it was Tyler Carpenter to the lead at the green flag but Duane Chamberlain was in close pursuit. Despite being slowed by 4-5 cautions and awesome racing throughout the field, it was all Tyler Carpenter as the driver from Parkersburg, WV would lead all 30 laps and park his Kryptonite racecar in the MRP victory lane for the first time. Chamberlain would come home in second spot with Josh Rice, Randy Armes, and Kody Evans completing the top 5 positions.

The Diamond Cut Lawn Care Sport Mod division was up next and it was Kyle Tarvin and Dallas Pickelheimer claiming heat race wins and setting the lineup for the feature event. At the green flag it was Ironton, OH’s Breanna Robinson to the early lead from her 3rd starting spot with track champion Pickelheimer in close pursuit. The race was slowed numerous times for minor incidents but the race would change drastically as Pickelheimer would spin on a lap 12 restart. Following a lap 14 restart it was Bidwell, Ohio’s Reed Bishop hounding Robinson out front and he would take the lead on lap 17 and go on to claim his first career win at MRP. BJ Branham would pass Robinson for 2nd position on the last lap while Josh Smythe would claim 4th position over Kyle Tarvin.

In the Matt’s Graphic UMP Modified division it was a strong field of 28 cars on hand. In heat race action it was Brandon Ramsey, KC Burdette, and Josh Rice taking wins while Brent Hudson would battle all race long with Matt Watson before taking the win in the B-main event. In the feature event it was Parkersburg, WV’s KC Burdette jumping to the lead and it looked as though he would be hard to beat. Behind him though was some great racing action as Brandon Ramsey, Kyle and Andy Bond and Josh Rice would all battle hard for the remaining top five positions. Following a caution on lap 16 things would change in the battle up front as Kyle Bond would restart in second position and the youngster from Guysville, OH would pressure Burdette up front. On lap 18 Bond would put his Brucebilt chassis in the lead and set sail for his first career win at MRP. Jimmy Lennex Jr would challenge Bond but a caution with 2 laps to go would slow his challenge. Bond would take the win with Lennex in second spot, Burdette holding onto third position over Ramsey and Josh Rice coming home in fifth position.

The Cohen Recycling Compact Division would see 24 cars on hand and it was Kyle Willoughby and Brandon Stephens taking the heat race wins and setting the feature lineup. At the drop of the green flag in the feature Stephens would jump to the early lead with Willoughby and Ryan Barrett in close pursuit. Those 3 cars would battle throughout the event with Willoughby actually leading a couple of laps by just a nose. But after 20 laps it was 2017 Track Champion Brandon Stephens holding on for his 3rd win on the season. Willoughby would come home in 2nd spot with Barrett, Clyde Pack, and Zach Brandstutter completing the top five spots.

During the National Anthem, Moler Raceway Park Safety Crew, who has been with us for the entire 11 years is having several members retire this year, and they gave a very special parade lap and then were presented awards for their dedication to keeping everyone safe, race after race and year after year, along with our Ambulance Service, First Care Ambulance! We really appreciate all of you and thank you so much!

The Moler Family would like to thank everyone for coming out for the Turkey Gobbler as well as the entire 2017 Season!

Thanks to All Sponsors, Racers and Fans for an Awesome 2017!

Special Thanks to our Class Sponsors Diamond Cut Lawn Care, Matt’s Graphics, Cohen Recycling and Gunners Shooting Supply!!

Congratulations to our 2017
Track Champions: Kody Evans - Late Models
Jimmy Lennex, Jr. – UMP Modifieds Dallas Pickelheimer - Sport Mods Brandon Stephens - Crazy Compacts.

Banquet of Champions is January 20th. We need sponsors for the banquet. If you’d like to advertise or donate something to auction off please email us at molerracewaypark@gmail.com.

Thanks to Gunners Shooting Supply for donating the first basket to auction off at the banquet this year!

We also have 2018 Sponsorship packages available starting at $500 for the whole year and we will announce sponsors at the banquet! You can sponsor a trophy for $50 at the banquet or at the track and get your business announced!! Racers Support those who Support our Sport!!

Special Thanks and Congratulations to Everyone on an Awesome 2017 Season! See you next year!

Moler Raceway Park
2059 Harker Waits Road
Williamsburg, Ohio

Track Phone