A Large Turnout at The Annual Turkey Gobbler race closes out MRP’s 10th Year Anniversary!


11-12-16 - Williamsburg, OH - The 10th Anniversary Season for Moler Raceway ended with the Annual Turkey Gobbler Event having a large crowd and 132 cars on-hand despite the cold temps. There were 30 late models on hand with lots of newcomers making their first visit to the speedway. Heat races were won by Jeremy Berwanger of Murray City, OH, Bill Sheets of Versailles, Ind. and Freddie Carpenter of Parkersburg, WV. In the B-main event it was Tom Collini of Erlanger, KY taking the checkered flag.

In the 30 lap A-main event it was Berwanger out front in his Huntley Trucking, Bazzell Race Fuels, Schaeffers Oil, Poskes Performance Parts, Swift Springs sponsored machine at the drop of the green flag. There was side-by-side three and four-wide racing throughout the field behind him including Carpenter, Sheets, Andy Bond and Randy Armes. The race was slowed numerous times for minor issues and with each ensuing restart Carpenter and Sheets would put lots of pressure on the leader but within 2 laps Berwanger would start pulling away out front leaving the rest of the field battling behind him. After 30 laps it was Jeremy Berwanger parking his machine in victory lane claiming his first ever win at MRP. Freddie Carpenter would come home in second position with Andy Bond, Bill Sheets, Dillon Huron, Craig Wolford, Joe Brewer, James Rice, Randy Arms and Dave Hornical completing the top ten.

A field of 22 Diamond Cut Lawn Care Sport Mods were signed in and it was Jamey Adams, Frankie Hall and BJ Branham taking the heat race wins and setting the lineup for the feature event. At the green flag of the 15 lap feature event it was Adams to the lead but following numerous cautions that would cause complete restarts the field finally had to restart single file. Once they got going it was all Jamey Adams in the Bowles Concrete machine. Branham and Hall would pressure Adams but the more green flag laps they ran the farther the driver from Laurelville, OH would pull away from the pack and take yet another sport mod win. Hall would come home in 2nd with Branham finishing in 3rd spot just ahead of Dallas Pickelheimer and Casey Phelps.

The Matt's Graphics Modified division would see 40 cars on hand trying to take home the $1,000 prize money. Teams would have to race their way through 4 heat races and 2 B-main events to claim one of the 20 starting spots in the feature event. Heat race #1 would see Rising Sun, Indiana Scott Kincaid taking the win while heat #2 would see Mineral Wells, WV driver Kenny Johnson taking the win. Heat #3 would see Bethel OH’s Larry Pickelheimer Jr taking the win while Florence, Ky's Brandon Ramsey took the win in heat #4. The B-mains were won by Gallipolis, OH's Mark Dickson while Eric Morris of Hartford City, Ind would claim the second B-main. In the feature event it was Kincaid out front but there were lots of cars battling for the second spot. Throughout the feature it was Brandon Ramsey putting pressure on the leader with Kenny Johnson and Dave McWilliams fighting hard in 3rd spot with hammer-down side-by side racing throughout the field. At the end it was the Bar-Tie Reinforcing machine of Kincaid claiming his first win at MRP with Ramsey coming home in second spot with Kenny Johnson, Dave McWilliams, and Adam Stricker completing the top five spots.

The DRC Crazy Compacts would see 25 teams on hand. In heat race action it was Darren Batchelor taking the win in heat #1 while Blake Gibson would win heat race #2 with Ryan Barrett taking the win in heat #3. Brandon Stephens won the Diamond Cut Lawn Care Dash. In the feature event it was Matt Murrell to the early lead but by lap #11 Blake Gibson would take over the top spot. As the drivers would complete lap #17 (In Honor of Anthony Traylor) it was Gibson pulling off and Josh Gilbert would lead that lap. Following a restart it was Murrell and Gilbert battling hard for the top spot. At the end Murrell would take the checkered flag for his first ever feature win while Ryan Barrett would come home a close second. Michael Hoffman would claim 3rd over Jimmy McElfresh and Jacob McKinley.

The final event of the night would see 15 Tarvin Auto Service Freedom 4's take the track and it was Chris Vance jumping to the lead and he would hold the top spot until lap 13 when he would pull off and it was Sean Jones taking advantage of the misfortune to claim his second win in a row. Josh Davis would come home second with Josh Francis, Joey Wyckoff, and Mike Clark completing the top five.

Moler Raceway Park would like to thank everyone for coming out and making this one of The Best Nights of 2016 and for all of their support throughout the year! Congratulations to everyone for a Great 2016 and Special Congratulations to our 2016 Track Champions…Late Models -
Lil’ John Whitney, Matt’s Graphics UMP Modifieds - John “Weasel” Rhoades, Diamond Cut Lawn Care Sport Mods -
Tony Seibert, TheDRC Crazy Compacts - Jerry “Bubba” Gibson III, Tarvin Auto Service Freedom 4’s - Chris Vance.

Our 10th Annual Banquet of Champions will be Saturday January 21st 2017 details t/b/a. www.molerracewaypark.com. You can check out your favorite videos at www.youtube.com/molerracewaypark. Thanks Everyone for an Awesome 2016!

Moler Raceway Park
2059 Harker Waits Road
Williamsburg, Ohio

Track Phone