Modified Mania lived up to its name



Modified Mania lived up to its name as it was a Wild One with exciting and hammer down racing in all divisions. In the late model feature Verona, Kentucky's Josh Rice would jump to the top spot with Camden, Ohio's Kody Evans in close pursuit in second position. Those two youngsters would race that way the entire 25 lap distance with furious battling behind them but in the end Rice would claim his 2nd consecutive win in the Kuzman racing machine. Evans would come home in second with Bill Sheets, Joe Brewer, and Michael Hildebrand completing the top five running order. Rice and Brewer were heat race winners.

The Diamond Cut Lawn Care Sport Mods ran second in the running order and it was the veteran Spencer Watson parking the Phelps Racing machine in victory lane. Early in the event it looked as though Cody Gifford would claim his first ever MRP victory but a flat tire on lap 9 would see him have to go to the “hot pit” area for a replacement. He would rejoin the field and finish in 3rd spot. As laps wore down Brianna Robinson would rebound from a lap 1 spin to challenge Watson for the win but the veteran would hold off the young lady to claim the win. Robinson would come home in second with Gifford, Stevie Thornsbury, and Tom Moler completing the top five spots. Jason Manning was victorious in the Diamond Cut Lawn Car Dash event for non-winners.

There were 25 UMP Modifieds on hand in the Matt's Graphic Modifieds all hoping to take home the $2,000 to win grand prize. Early on it was multi-time winner Matt Hamilton leading the way in his #9h machine with Joey Kramer in second spot. A lap 20 restart would see an interesting turn of events as Hamilton's car stumbled on the restart and the driver from Aurora, Ind would take his machine pit-side which would see Kramer take over the top spot but that would only last 1 lap as the driver from Hanover, Indiana would have mechanical issues spinning in turn #4 and retiring from the event. During this chaos the 3rd place running machine of Dave McWilliams would also go up in smoke retiring him from the event. On the restart it was Jimmy Lennex Jr out front with 8 laps to go. Lennex would get a good restart but Gary Dunaway would spin in turn #4 with 5 laps remaining and bring out the final caution of the event. On the restart it was 16th place starter Kyle Schornick from Sunman, Indiana putting pressure on Lennex as soon as the green flag would wave. The two drivers would trade the top spot about 7 times in the last 5 laps as Schornick would slide in front of Lennex but Lennex would drive back past him and retake the lead. On the final lap Schornick would try a slide job but Lennex would hold his line and the two drivers would bounce off of each other and the wall as they raced to the checkered flag. Lennex would cross the line first in what has been deemed The Best Race of 2016 in his Bowie Tire Co, Maysville Premier Auto, Logan's Print Works, Jethro's Tiki Bar, H&S Excavating sponsored machine. Schornick would come home in second spot with Cory Skipton, Larry Pickelheimer, and Ryan Williams completing the top five spots. Skipton, Hamilton, and Kramer would each win heat races with Schornick winning the B-main event.

The Tarvin Auto Service Freedom 4's would see a new winner as JR Lemaster from Washington Court House would hold off a hard charging Mike Clark to take the win in his first ever visit to the speedway. Lemaster was scheduled to start in 4th position but when heat race #2 winner Josh Davis did not make the start of the feature it was Lemaster on the outside pole. The driver would jump to the lead early but it was Clark right with him throughout the entire 15 lap feature event. Clark would get to his door coming for the checkered flag but would have to settle for second position at the finish. Nathan Ball would have his best career finish by coming home in 3rd spot while Brian Ocull and Jerry Troute would complete the top five. Davis and Clark were heat race winners.

The DRC Crazy Compacts would round out the evening and it was Walton, Ky's Josh Hammond taking his 3rd win of the season at Moler and 5th race win overall in his Finn Fabrication sponsored machine. Anthony Traylor would come home in second spot with Brandon Stephens, Dave Cooper, and Brad Hoskins completing the top five positions. Doug Gall and Hammond were heat race winners.

Saturday Night November 12th - 9th Annual Turkey Gobbler 30, Late Models $1500 to Win, Matt’s Graphics UMP Modifieds $1000 to Win, TheDRC Crazy Compacts, Diamond Lawn Care Sport Mods and Tarvin Auto Service Freedom 4’s $300 to Win with Rain/Snow dates 11-19 and 11-26. molerracewaypark.com

Moler Raceway Park
2059 Harker Waits Road
Williamsburg, Ohio

Track Phone